Why I Believe

I know that everything in my life adds up. It all makes sense, like a puzzle coming together perfectly. Because of this, and because of the amazing things I read in the Word, and because of the wonderful things that science cannot explain (but the Word of God can), I find it easy to believe in God and to trust Him. Yet, somehow, I have difficulty explaining my belief to others.

I feel that salvation is not an argument to be won – as if I could somehow pass my belief along to others if I could only use the right words. Salvation – and by extension, Christianity – is not merely a philosophy or a way to live; it is something more. It is something that defines every aspect of the Christian’s life, informs every decision. It is a whole-hearted acceptance of the Creator-God and His authority, love, and forgiveness over your life.

I believe that those seeking Him will find Him, and those who choose to reject Him will overlook Him, even if He appears physically before them. (Let’s face it, it’s happened before.) However, I want my words, my actions, my very existence to be a testimony to the fact that He does indeed exist and take part in our lives. I want to be vocal and approachable for any potential seekers that come into contact with me or my writing.

4 responses to “Why I Believe

  1. You wrote: “I believe that those seeking Him will find Him, and those who choose to reject Him will overlook Him, even if He appears physically before them.” This reminds me of the beautiful story of Paul, the Epicureans and Stoics on Mars Hill (Acts 17), particularly verse 27.

    Acts 17:23-28New American Standard Bible (NASB)

    23 For while I was passing through and examining the objects of your worship, I also found an altar with this inscription, ‘TO AN UNKNOWN GOD.’ Therefore what you worship in ignorance, this I proclaim to you. 24 The God who made the world and all things in it, since He is Lord of heaven and earth, does not dwell in temples made with hands; 25 nor is He served by human hands, as though He needed anything, since He Himself gives to all people life and breath and all things; 26 and He made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined their appointed times and the boundaries of their habitation, 27 that they would seek God, if perhaps they might grope for Him and find Him, though He is not far from each one of us; 28 for in Him we live and move and [a]exist, as even some of your own poets have said, ‘For we also are His children.’

    • That is a perfect example of the need we have to worship our Creator, and the gracious way He reveals Himself to those who truly seek Him (through Paul in this instance). I keep thinking that if there’s someone over there in Pakistan right now, praying for the truth, and if Ian is able to plant a seed, that will be enough to make everything worth it. Even if Ian only ever reaches one person and loses his (earthly) life. No one can take his eternal life away. Sorry I keep bringing up Ian’s missionary work, but it’s always in the back of my mind and it affects the way I feel about everything now. I just wish I could be more of a missionary myself. I write a lot, but it’s so impersonal. I wish I had the guts to witness to people in person. I’m always afraid to bring it up because I’m afraid they’ll think that I think they’re a bad person.

      • Don’t apologize for talking about Ian so much. I think it’s awesome.

        Amy, I think you are a great missionary to this community. You are involved in making disciples (Ian) for example. Think of the mother of John and Charles Wesley? Check her story out sometime :D.

        Sometimes, I think God keeps the WAY and EXTENT we influence others hidden from us. It might be one of the variegated ways in which the Father prunes the branches attached the True Vine–so that we will continue to abide in him and bear much fruit. Also I think (as important as it is to be vocal) we must remember the apostle Paul’s words to the Corinthians that the GREATER manifestation of the Spirit’s work in our life is love personified.

        If we speak with the tongue of men and of angels–have faith that move mountains, prophesy and understand all mysteries and even give our bodies away to burned as a martyr, that without LOVE, we’re just noise. The way you care for and love others IS a missionary work. Don’t be too hard on yourself 😀 God loves you and he’s not disappointed. He would have to be surprised to be disappointed and well…nothing ever just occurs to him. Sorry for another long post. Just wanted to encourage you

      • Thanks for the encouragement. I love that “nothing ever just occurs to him.” When I found out I had cancer, Kay told me, “nothing surprises God.” Thinking of God that way – the way He truly is – allows us to trust Him whole-heartedly and without reservation. I would still like to figure out a way to approach people. Especially a few people that have been on my heart lately. But I will keep loving and praying for them in the meantime!

Leave a Reply

