An Easy Read through Psalm 119 – Mem & Nun

gavelWhy, oh why, does David love the Law? This used to drive me crazy. We’ve been taught that it is our enemy, but nothing could be further from the truth. Disobedience is our enemy. Disobedience is what brings about the curse of the Law. Once I realized that the Law was for our benefit and protection, I started adopting it into my own lifestyle, and now I am in love with it too! Isn’t this what we should have expected from a loving God? “Oh that they had such a heart in them, that they would fear Me and keep all My commandments always, that it may be well with them and with their sons forever!” Deuteronomy 5:29 (This is precisely what God accomplished by sending His Son – Jeremiah 31:31-34)

It makes us wiser than our enemies. Unless the Law is perfect and holy and right, how could it do this? If it was given just to set apart the Jewish nation, how would that bring wisdom? But the Law is perfect, and the nation was set apart because the Law is holy. Obeying it protects you. Did you know that the Jews were blamed for the outbreak of the Black Death because they were getting sick at a slower rate than the general population? Why? Because they were obeying God’s Law. Dead bodies were buried outside the city. They washed in running water, etc. These Laws are here for our benefit. But don’t take my word for it; read your Bible and see what God’s Word has to say about it. Deuteronomy 11:26, I John 5:3, Deuteronomy 4:40, Deuteronomy 6:17-18, Deuteronomy 10:12-13, Romans 7:12, 14, 16, 22, 25 (Just read Romans, lol).

97 O how love I thy law! it is my meditation all the day.

98 Thou through thy commandments hast made me wiser than mine enemies: for they are ever with me.

99 I have more understanding than all my teachers: for thy testimonies are my meditation.

100 I understand more than the ancients, because I keep thy precepts.

101 I have refrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep thy word.

102 I have not departed from thy judgments: for thou hast taught me.

103 How sweet are thy words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

104 Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.

105 Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

106 I have sworn, and I will perform it, that I will keep thy righteous judgments.

107 I am afflicted very much: quicken me, O Lord, according unto thy word.

108 Accept, I beseech thee, the freewill offerings of my mouth, O Lord, and teach me thy judgments.

109 My soul is continually in my hand: yet do I not forget thy law.

110 The wicked have laid a snare for me: yet I erred not from thy precepts.

111 Thy testimonies have I taken as an heritage for ever: for they are the rejoicing of my heart.

112 I have inclined mine heart to perform thy statutes alway, even unto the end.

photo credit: Visual Content <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/143601516@N03/27571522123″>Legal Gavel & Closed Law Book</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

