Apple Fasting

Has anyone ever tried an apple fast?Apples

I believe fasting is good for clearing the line of communication between myself and God, but even if you aren’t religious, it is widely known for being good for us mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually. I say spiritually because, even if you don’t believe in a higher power, I assume everyone reading this believes they are more than just a mere cloud of atoms (a phrase borrowed from C.S. Lewis). The greatest benefit in my own life has been two-fold: clarity and self-discipline. I believe it is a powerful tool that Christians (or dieters, lol) can use to overcome fleshly temptations, and it is so powerful that I don’t understand why it is so often overlooked and rarely spoken about, even in Christian circles. I am assuming it’s because we aren’t supposed to brag about it? Or to make ourselves look hungry, etc? But is this any excuse not to teach our children and mentor others who have the same needs? I don’t think so.

I am asking about the apple fast because Ian is interested in fasting. (He is 10.) However, everything I have read says that children should not fast. The apple fast is a happy medium in which you can consume as many apples as you want for 1-3 days, but nothing else (except water and apple juice). It is supposed to have many of the same physical benefits as regular fasting. I don’t know if the discipline benefits will be all that much though, but I figure it’s a start.

Ideas or comments?

4 responses to “Apple Fasting

  1. I would suggest setting aside some extra time in Scripture talking about the Word being the bread and examples of food used in parables and visions. I was taught that when one fasts, they ought to feast in the Bible.

    • That is a great suggestion! I agree that it’s always good to spend time in the Word or in worship, etc. that we would usually spend eating. Thank you, because I had not thought about doing that with my son.

  2. Fasting is great for the body. It is suggested that children even babies fast in times of illness. Unless your child has some health problem that would be contradicted to fasting I agree with letting our children partake in one. There is also a grape fast of 3 days of eating grapes which rids the body of extra mucus. I’ve done that one as well as my daughter (who was about 10 at the time). 😄 There’s lots of fasting books out there. I have one that mentions it called The Divine Prescription and Science of Health and Healing. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

