An Answer to the Endless Question

So, some of my best inspirations come from comments that I have made on other people’s blogs. Last weekend, I was reading a blog that I have been following for quite some time, and after commenting on her post, I thought I would share my thoughts on the matter with you all as well. This post will make the most sense if you read the original post, but in case you don’t, the writer was talking about her son going through a phase of doubt concerning his religion. This was my response:

My son went through that Insomniaphase too. And I went through it as well. I have two ideas. Number one, as you say, it is okay to doubt. God gave us a brain for a reason, and he wants us to use it. It is not unreasonable to believe in a Creator. Quite the contrary, as your son will discover. Especially as he learns about the intricacy and complexity of biology, chemistry, etc. God wants us to ask intelligent questions. He has all of the answers to help us have faith in Him without feeling stupid. Secondly, the Word of God is powerful and claims to speak for itself. The Word is God (John 1:1), and He is certainly capable of making his own defending arguments. So my suggestion is this: you’ve already told your son that it is okay to doubt. Now, get him reading the Word of God every day, and encourage him in the fact that, if God is truly the Author of His Word, it will be obvious to him. His doubts will melt away in the bright warmth of the truth. It has certainly helped my son, and it helped me as well, in my time of doubt. I had my son start in the book of John, and read through Acts and the Epistles. He is almost finished. Not sure where we’ll go next, as he is still too young for some of the issues addressed in the Old Testament. And as an added benefit, his reading skills have greatly improved as well!

 

By the way, I would recommend visiting her blog and checking out the video she embedded at the end of the post we were just discussing. I have felt exactly like the young man in the video, for years on end. It wasn’t until I really got into the Word and started talking to God like He was a normal person that I really began to feel any assurance. I told Him that I knew He was God, and I knew He was good, but other than that, I was lost as to which religion was correct. I think the idea that all religions are correct is just silly. They are too exclusive to be inclusive, and there was a distinct method of our creation and there will be a distinct way that we spend eternity, and I just wanted to know the truth about my own existence. I figured if there was anything I ever had to get right in life, it was this. Anyway, I just asked Him to help me to find the truth. I knew He wouldn’t send me to hell just because I was under-educated, if my own religion turned out to be a bunch of bologna. I knew He would respond to a truth seeker, and He did. 🙂 I have never trusted Him so much in all my life.

4 responses to “An Answer to the Endless Question

  1. I would even argue that doubt is an essential component of faith. Faith is not absolute certainty. “Abraham left, not knowing where he was going…” LOL We are traveling under sealed orders at times. One of my early mentors once said: God reveals enough to inspire faith and hides enough to require faith. You are right though: faith is not unreasonable.

    I LOVED the way you put this:

    “It wasn’t until I really got into the Word and started talking to God like He was a normal person that I really began to feel any assurance. I told Him that I knew He was God, and I knew He was good, but other than that, I was lost as to which religion was correct. I think the idea that all religions are correct is just silly. They are too exclusive to be inclusive, and there was a distinct method of our creation and there will be a distinct way that we spend eternity, and I just wanted to know the truth about my own existence. I figured if there was anything I ever had to get right in life, it was this. Anyway, I just asked Him to help me to find the truth. I knew He wouldn’t send me to hell just because I was under-educated, if my own religion turned out to be a bunch of bologna. I knew He would respond to a truth seeker, and He did. 🙂 I have never trusted Him so much in all my life.”

    Your last statement reminds me of what the Apostle Paul told the Epicureans and Stoics on Mars Hill:

    Acts 17:26-27–And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation; 27 That they should seek the Lord, if haply they might feel after him, and find him, though he be not far from every one of us:

    • Thanks for your response, Mike. You bring something very important to light. Something I had forgotten: “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

      Also, the verses from Acts are very appropriate, and express exactly how I feel about salvation, God’s elect, and predestination. He knew who would seek Him, and He has enabled those seekers to find Him. At least, that’s how I interpret this verse, in light of what I already believe.

      It is true that…wise men still seek him.

  2. He promises that all who seek him, will find him. That is what I cling to the most for my children, and encourage them. I tell them all the time that God is bigger than their doubts. He can handle their confusion, anger, and questions with grace and kindness.

    Lovely post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

