Un-Stereotyping

The inspiration for this post came from a friend’s blog. While commenting on her post, I thought of a new creative writing exercise, and I thought I would post it here as well, in case any of you find it useful:

I hate reading female leads, LonelinessI think because they are always so stereotypical. I almost stopped reading Mocking Jay because she got on my nerves so much, and I did put Allegiant down and never picked it back up for the same reason. The female lead was depressed and whiny. I don’t hang out with girls like that in real life, so why would I want to spend my free time doing so?

Anyway, here’s an idea: one could brainstorm a personality trait list for the stereotypical female, and then turn it on its head when writing character. Come to think of it, that might make a good writing prompt for any character that has an associated stereotype.

2 responses to “Un-Stereotyping

  1. I always love the female leads in Margaret Atwood novels – they always have many different quirks and intensify the human spirit.

  2. That’s really cool! I have never read a Margaret Atwood novel before. Which genre does she write in?

Leave a Reply

