Our Favorite Sins

Our Favorite Sins by Todd D. Hunter was written to help every sinner who is tired of his sinful lifestyle. Mr. Hunter addresses the fact that we commit the same sins over and over, and it’s difficult for us to get out of those ruts. Basically, we have trouble because we try to force ourselves to quit sinning, but we do nothing to address the desires that tempt us to sin again and again. If we could only steer our desires away from evil and toward goodness, it would be easier to just say “no.” We won’t fall into sin if we have no desire to commit that particular sin.

This was a great book for me to read. I would recommend it to all who find themselves falling for the same temptations again and again. All too often, we wander aimlessly through life, succeeding or failing to overcome temptation in a haphazard manner, without addressing the root of the problem. We neglect to ask ourselves which desires really drive us to temptation. In addition, we unknowingly nurture the desires that trip us up the most. For instance, if we are prone to sexual temptation, we read romance novels and watch romantic movies. These things just serve to enhance our desires, and will intensify the temptation to sin when it comes our way. If we are sick of our own sin, we need to make a concentrated effort to address our desires.

If you want to find out more, check out the product page for this book. Or you can preview it here.

Note: In exchange for an honest review, the publisher provided a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze®.

2 responses to “Our Favorite Sins

  1. I don’t want to sound rude, I really don’t, but your post sort of brought up a glaring question I’ve had for a long time about Christians and their view on temptation. It also has very little to do with the subject matter of the book (because for all I know it could be great and I could 100% agree with it) and more so your wording of the post.

    I grew up in the Lutheran church, so obviously they taught us the story of Luther (probably a romanticized version, but that’s beside the point). In it, Luther is freaking out for a very long time, waging war with the devil in his mind, over his sins and his temptations. He’s never done sinning, can never stop, and can never gain God’s graces, really.

    I just feel like we get caught up on temptations and how to avoid them instead of trying to be honest with ourselves, if that makes sense. Luther ends up being totally honest with himself. He’s a sinner, always will be, and by that standard will never gain or be worth God’s love — but that’s why God’s love is freely given, not because we deserve it but because He loves us. That’s the essence of what I was taught, and what I really believe in.

    So all of this to ask if you feel that you can ever stop sinning? That a book like this will teach you how to be able to avoid temptation entirely? (Note that I’m not saying avoiding temptation is bad, but more so commenting on the totality of this avoiding temptation/sinning mentality, if that makes sense). And as a Christian, am I supposed to beat myself up every time I sin? Always remind myself how I fall short, that I essentially suck as a human being because I’m a sinner? (Also note that this isn’t a personal attack on your or anything. This is something I struggle with and want a genuine answer to).

  2. I don’t think that any honest Christian believes that we can ever be sinless this side of glory, but that the blood of Christ covers our sins. So I don’t think anyone can ever stop sinning, but I would prefer to sin as little as possible in the meantime, and I’d like to take as many steps as possible toward that goal.
    This book isn’t so much about avoiding temptation as it is about trying to change as many of our sinful desires as we can. For instance, the author mentions a conversation he had with a guy at church one morning over a motorcycle in the parking lot. The guy talking to him couldn’t understand why he wouldn’t lust after a Harley Davidson like the other guy did, but the author of the book just wasn’t interested in motorcycles, so the temptation to covet another guy’s possession just wasn’t there for him in that instance.
    This book mainly deals with addressing the root of the problem – our desires, not the actual sins themselves. You may have to read the book to find out exactly what he’s trying to say; I’m probably not explaining it very well.
    I do think a little bit of guilt is a good thing to feel when we sin – it’s the Holy Spirit’s job to convict us, after all, – but then I think we also need to move on with our lives, forgive ourselves, and try to do better next time. One thing that I do not believe is that we can just blame our human nature and sin as much as we want without calling it into check.
    What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. Romans 6:1-2a
    So while we know that we are sinners, and will be until the day we die, we still make an effort not to sin.

Leave a Reply

