Better Blogging…

…using search terms.

I think I just discovered a great way to offer my readers more helpful information. I found a page on WordPress that records all the search terms ever used to hit my blog. I had never thought to look at that page before, but while looking at today’s search terms on my stats page, I realized that one of the searchers probably didn’t find exactly what he was looking for. Then it occurred to me that I have the experience to help that particular searcher. So I plan to start a new series based on responses to search terms. Hopefully I can help more people find what they’re looking for. I intend to post these on Wednesdays. I have no idea how long I can keep this one going – it depends on the search terms and whether or not I know enough to respond. Now I just have to think of a clever name for the series…

6 responses to “Better Blogging…

  1. “Looking For THIS?!”
    “Seek, and You Shall Find”
    “Happy Hunting”
    Hope that sparks something useful in the series name department. (:

  2. Great idea! I love looking at the search terms people have used to find my blog. It helps to know what people are looking for and what they are most interested in reading. Title suggestion: “Still Haven’t Found What You’re Looking For?” Good luck with your new series. 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the suggestion! So I guess I’m not the only one who thinks it would be a good idea to write with search terms in mind. Funny thing though – I’ve never seen a suggestion to do that while researching ways to make a better blog.

  3. Search terms are always the best to look at and discover how people fall upon your blog! Wish you the best in the new year!

    • I wish I would have thought of using search terms sooner. I’ve been blogging for almost a year now.

      Thanks for the well-wishing! Hope your year goes well too!

Leave a Reply

