Gossip and Murder

Should God have given Adam and Eve more information? He said, “Don’t do this…” Some may come to the conclusion that He was setting them up for The Fall. He gave them one thing they couldn’t do, and perhaps did not explain that the whole world was at stake. He told them they would die, but did they understand death, even know what it was?

My thought is this: the intensity of their sin had nothing to do with whether they had complete information or not; it had nothing to do with their intentions. Their sin was rooted in the fact that they disobeyed their Creator, the Maker of the Rules. He doesn’t have to tell us what our consequences will be. He says things like, “Obey your parents,” or “Submit to your husband.” Just because we imagine that the consequences of our own solution will be more bearable than the pain of obedience, we choose to do things  our way. But, like Eve, we have no idea how far-reaching those consequences are going to be. A woman doesn’t respect her husband. How many people does she affect? How many generations do her daughters and granddaughters carry on her tradition? How many sons allow their wives to take the lead? How many lives ruined? Where does the madness end?

How about obeying God because He says so? Because He knew what was good for us when He inspired His Word? We can fairly see the consequences for murder, so we don’t do it. Just because we can’t clearly see the consequences for other forms of disobedience, should we go ahead and chance it? If the definition of sin is disobedience to God, then gossip is no different than murder. (As a matter of fact, the sin of gossip has often resulted in similar consequences: loss of life due to suicide.)

4 responses to “Gossip and Murder

  1. AMEN, Little Sis, blog on!!!

  2. Very insightful…I think as humans we tend to judge the weight of a sin (only a little white lie…) by the possible consequences we can see. And you are so right that we can’t see the ripple effect.

    Yes, God looks on the heart. Actions are important, but so are intentions. I think the message of the New Testament is that God does not want rule followers only, but people who follow from love and with good intention. We don’t win points by being Pharisees, but by living by faith out of love.

    Sheila

    • You know, I often wonder about the significance of finding liberty in salvation. I try to do everything right, all the time, and aim for perfection. It sometimes worries me that this was the way the Pharisees behaved. I definitely don’t want to be like them! However, weren’t they just trying to make other people think they were holy? Did they not believe themselves to be holy becaused they followed the letter of the law? Obeying God’s commandments can’t possibly be wrong, but it was the arrogance of their hearts and the hypocrisy of their lifestyles that displeased God. In addition, they obeyed in the same sense that my son might say, “Well, you told me not to eat pancakes on my bed, and I didn’t! But you didn’t tell me I couldn’t wipe my syrupy hands on my blanket.” They may have obeyed, but they missed the entire point! My motivations for obedience are entirely different. As a child, I loved to please my parents, to make them proud of me. Now I find myself wanting to please my heavenly Father. It’s not even difficult to obey when we are acting out of love for Him. It is difficult, however, at times when we get wrapped up in ourselves. Our liberty lies in the fact that our sins are covered, and in the fact that His life, death, and resurrection revealed the plan for salvation. It’s all about people. We can help people on the Sabbath day because it’s the people who are important, etc. After we understand the point of our existence, and the point of God’s commandments, we can obey Him as best we can, without worrying about eternal damnation for ourselves, and helping as many others avoid it as we can. What do you think? I struggle with this topic pretty often.

  3. Pingback: The difference between Peter and Judas « Full Circle Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

