Dial-a-Personality

Back in March, I posted a writing exercise entitled: Dial-a-Writing-Promt. Today, I am posting an exercise intended to help you get going when creating a character. In addition to including positive personality traits, I thought it would be good to choose something that you may find annoying in your character as well. Since none of us are perfect, this will help you create a well-rounded person. Have fun! Feel free to post G-rated short stories that you generated using the exercise!

Dial-a-Personality

Fill out the worksheet. Examples have been given to get you started. Use the last 4 digits of a phone number to determine the personality of your main character.

Character traits that we admire in people:

0. Optimism

1. Friendliness

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

Character traits that we find annoying in others:

0. Chatterbox

1. Braggart

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

Possible long-term or short-term goals:

0. Finish a term paper

1. ClimbMt.Everest

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

Recent or past events that can affect a person:

0. Lost a job

1. Adopted as a child

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

5 responses to “Dial-a-Personality

  1. Hi! I just wanted to say I’ve enjoyed your work in HSE! I am bookmarking your blog, even though you intimidate me! 😉 lol! No, really, I’m always needing good ideas. Thanks sharing your homeschooling life. Have a great day!

    • Thanks, Valerie!
      I thought I would check out your article in HSE before I responded. I received the magazine yesterday, but was too busy to peruse it! Lovely article, by the way. Don’t be intimidated by me! I’m just a little girl in a woman’s body, trying to do my best and failing miserably. Good thing God can take our failings and make something wonderful out of them! Besides, I think we all just intimidate each other, don’t we? We probably wouldn’t feel that way if we actually had opportunities to meet the women behind the blogs and articles that we love to read. Hopefully we would realize that we’re all just fun-loving homeschool moms! Looking forward to the Day when we will all meet together… We’ll have an eternity to get to know one another!

  2. Thanks so much, Amy. Yes, I’m easily intimidated! Shame on me for comparing myself to everyone! I’m working on that. I’m glad you liked the article. I’m worried I didn’t express myself very well. A lady in my church told me it was “cute”. Ummm, “cute” wasn’t what I was going for! lol! Thanks so much for your encouragement!

    • I really enjoyed your article. It’s so important that we help our children realize that God is a real person who is active in the lives of real (and by that I mean living) people. Too many times, it’s easy to think of God merely as someone who used to be active in the lives of Bible heroes. We set those heroes up on pedestals and have trouble believing that they had lives, goals, and troubles just like us. I love your exhortation to teach our children that God is still very active in the lives of His children today. They need that spiritual legacy in their own families, as well as our examples from the Bible, so that they can grow to trust Him as their own best friend and provider. BTW, our editor has extremely good taste; I’m amazed at the quality of the magazine as a whole. Your article belongs there. Your writing style is easy to read (by that I mean well-written), the story was interesting, and you made a very valid point! One that I hope will stick in the minds of your readers and make its way into many teachable moments.

  3. I agree, He is great! When I submitted my first article to him, it wasn’t long enough. He gave me some great advice, and wasn’t at all harsh or critical. I know most editors are not that way! I really don’t feel that I fit in with the other writers, like yourself, but it’s a blessing to be included. The Lord opened up this opportunity for me, otherwise it would have never happened, of that I’m sure! Thanks for your encouragement. It means a lot to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

