“To Make a Wretch His Treasure”

These are the only words I can remember from a song I heard in church yesterday. The moment I heard them, they hit me like a ton of bricks, and I haven’t stopped thinking about them since. In fact, I don’t want to stop thinking about them. I want to constantly be reminded that I am nothing and God is everything. I want those six words to inform every decision I make for the rest of the day…the rest of my life.

I cannot comprehend God, so I compare the wonderful gift He gave us to something I can understand: Playdough. Go grab a little bit. Make something beautiful – make it your life’s work. Give it an environment and little Playdough buddies to hang out with. All finished? Good. Are you ready to give your only child to redeem it? I didn’t think so.

Leave a Reply

